top of page
Writer's pictureMattie Grace

Books!

Updated: Aug 22, 2018

It has been a very long time since I've written a blog post. I'm not very good at it, am I? (: It's been about four months. It seems like I've done a lot in the past months, but it also seems like I haven't done anything. My mom turned fifty, I went to California with my family, my sisters 13th birthday is in a couple days. I guess it's just life, but it seems so strange that for most people that's all their life is.

But this post was supposed to be about books! I love books, if you didn't know! I also love thrift stores, which are practically the only places I buy books. If you can buy a hardback for $1.50 and a paperback for $1.00, why not? I especially love buying books at one of our thrift store chains, because they have half price books on Sunday!!

My mom, sister and I went to a couple thrift stores on two different days, and I ended up getting fifteen books for $16.17! You do have to search and you never know what book you will get, or if you will get any, but that's half the fun!

This is a pretty hideous photo, but it was the best one I got. (:

I have a rule to only buy books that I have read and want to read again, but I usually skip that rule if I know what the book is, and if I'll read it of course! I must confess I've only read seven of these books, but I want to read them all! I've practically read 8 because I read half of The Two Towers and I bought two copies of it, so I've read half the books I bought.


I've also only read half of Jane Eyre, it had to go back to the library, but I want to finish it and it was such a nice copy for $2.00 that I had to get it!



I don't absolutely love 20,000 Leagues Under The Sea, I like it, but there is quite a bit of scientific lingo, and I can barley say any of it let alone understand it! But it was just too beautiful

(and 75 cents!) that I just couldn't pass it up!


I thought this was just Alice's Adventures In Wonderland but it is also Alice Through The Looking-Glass which I already own, but if it has full page pictures (color!) which are irresistible to me for some reason!


I had just bought The Two Towers to complete my collection (except for the hobbit) so I was unsure If I should get it, but the whole set for $1.50, plus they're old, and I love old books!


The first one is starting to fall apart. The first ten pages have come out, and someone tried to tape it together quite a while ago, from the yellow almost nonexistent tape. I'm not sure how much I'll be reading this copy, but I love it anyway!


They are the 1974 edition, twenty years after the original, so not too, too old, but old enough for me! The insides each have this Elvish (? I don't know to much lotr lore) writing, and a map, but they are pretty simple otherwise.


1/3 of The Return of The King is appendix's A - F, then you have where the Poems are, the People Beasts and Monsters and finally the places! I'm not sure if all that is in every copy, my sister said it's in hers, but that is a lot more information than usual in a book!

Once again, another atrocious picture!

The half of Jane Eyre I read I really liked. It was a while ago, and I was young enough to

not appreciate old books, but now that I own it I

will definitely read it!

The Raven Boys I absolutely love!! Read with caution though, cause it has language in it, but if you can skip over that it is amazing! I love Maggie Stiefvater's writing style! It just makes me want to smile!

20,000 Leagues Under The Sea, as I said I liked it but it was a little difficult and slightly boring at times.

The Hunger Games trilogy I really liked. I like to read reviews on Goodreads about the books I read and there seems to be two categories. One is people absolutely LOVE it, and the other they hate it. I'm kinda in the middle, leaning towards love it, but not quite that much! (:

Yes, it is an atrocious picture!


I did not finish Charlie and the Chocolate Factory, but I absolutely love Roald Dahl! I've read The Twits and Matilda and his sense of humor is just like mine! Quirky and a little bit dark!

Of course, who couldn't love The Lord of The Rings? I have only finished The Fellowship of The Ring but I have seen all the movies, and they are amazing!

The Maze Runner I did really like. It wasn't my favorite, but the plot was so interesting. It was definitely my favorite out of the series. James Dashner's writing isn't my absolute favorite, but it was still a very good book.

Now, All The Light We Cannot See, is amazing!! It is a bit more mature because it's about WW2, and I can't remember if there was any language (if there was it wasn't that much) but it is still so good. It took me a while to read though. The first thing that kinda threw me off was the chapters. Cause it doesn't really have any. It has titles, but no numbers and they're very short. Three pages is probably the average. I read half, then had to take it back to the library, but I got it again which is kinda rare for me. If it has to go back to the library before I'm done, then it's not usually gonna be finished. But my friend said it was so good, so I had to try again. Once I got it I could not stop reading!!


If you have come down to the end of this whale of a post (which reminds me, I want to try to read Moby Dick) then congratulations!! I've finally finished writing this and it is now 4th of July! Happy 4th of July! I'm not sure when I will post again, but I am knitting my first pair of gloves (with lace, oooh) so I might post about that, and I might start another sewing project. Who knows?


Mattie G.

14 views0 comments

Σχόλια


bottom of page